“Pitch”

The concept of this animation was to show quick motion using a few shapes: two triangles, two lines, a square, and a circle. The motion of these shapes are supposed to match the rhythm of the song as best they could. The name of this animation is called “Pitch,” because I used a particularly sharper-pitched segment of the song. The triangles represent the movement from calm to sharp in the song, while the lines are there to represent basic rhythm and movement. As for the square and circle, they were there to substitute for the triangles, which ended about ¾ of the way through. They kept that same sharp movement in their place, and also added a more interesting feel to the animation as a whole.

My inspiration for this animation were both Hans Richter and Oskar Fischinger. I utilized Fischinger’s style of white shapes fading in and out, while also resizing and moving relatively fast. I ended up referencing Fischinger’s Studie nr 8 (1931) and Allegretto (1936) for my sharper movements. Of course, my movements weren’t as fluid and “stretchy” as his in these films, but the idea is still there. I didn’t want to copy all of his styles, but rather just a select aspect. As for Richter’s films, I used the segment in Rhythmus 21 (1921) where he uses semi-thick lines that slide in from outside the screen. The ones in my animation slide in quickly from diagonal angles. I also referenced the movement in Rhythmus 23 (1923) in which the shapes quickly appear and move around, or when they turn into other shapes, in which case would be the square to circle in my animation.

Overall, I think my strongest motions are in the beginning where the triangles slide up and down, appearing on screen to match the pitch of the song. I also think that the circles at the end that pop in and out all over the screen was a cool aspect, but, at the same time, they didn’t fully match the speed of the song. I think they are just a little too fast for the segment of the song. Overall, I am proud of the way the music is matched up to the animation, and it gives it a more interesting approach, rather than just playing a song in the background.

  • Links to references:

http://www.totalshortfilms.com/ver/pelicula/178

This entry was posted in Time Based and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

